College Choices

“It was a close place. I took . . . up [the letter I’d written to Miss Watson], and held it in my hand. I was a-trembling, because I’d got to decide, forever, betwixt two things, and I knowed it. I studied a minute, sort of holding my breath, and then says to myself: “All right then, I’ll go to hell”—and tore it up. It was awful thoughts and awful words, but they was said. And I let them stay said; and never thought no more about reforming.”

In Mark Twain’s novel The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, an important topic is brought to the audience’s attention. According to the passage above, one has the right and responsibility to stand up for what they believe in. This week, we were assigned to write about an aspect of society that, like Huck, we do not support. I would not consider my objection of the common societal belief all that controversial, however I feel that it is important for many to understand.

As I have grown up, my friends and I have always talked about our college aspirations. Occasionally, my friends and I have often been caught up in fantasies of attending an Ivy League school or something of the sort. However, as the time for applying approaches, a lot of us have bailed on our dreams and said that Texas A&M or UT sounds nice. These certain changes in attitude have made me think of the ways many of our peers will develop prejudices based on where we decide to attend college. While I totally agree that college is not for everyone, my objection is in response to what many college-bound high school students assume. If one of those “nerdy kids” decides to go to a state school, they may not be perceived with the same aura that they were formerly respected with. A nerd may not be considered as smart as they were before. Now, I am not saying this applies to many student/peer interactions. But lets face it. There has probably been at least a single time where you made this assumption. I know I have. And there is absolutely no reason for this. Most people do not pick the college they will attend based solely on the academic prestige of the school. Money plays a factor. Clubs and extracurricular activities weigh in. Even proximity to home may alter one’s decision.

I specifically recall a time where one of my friends told me of their dad’s college education. He had gone to a community college because he did not have the money to afford anything more. He then went onto medical school and is now one of the most respected doctors in the state. This goes to show that the school someone attends does not determine their intelligence. One’s intelligence is instead determined by their genetic composition and their drive to study.

Overall, I feel this societal flaw is committed unconsciously. But I am not going to get caught up in society’s brainwash. As application deadlines approach, I plan to stray from society’s typical response. I will choose what I think is best for me, despite what others say. And I will not be critical of the choices others make, because I have no way of fully comprehending their situations.

2 thoughts on “College Choices

  1. I 100% agree with your statement. I think that society has set a standard that defines success and this standard doesn’t apply to all. i think that if we achieve our goals, then we are successful and although you might go to a school that’s ranked below a lot of other schools, you still have a chance of building a great future.

    Like

Leave a comment